Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Vanishing Spray To Be Used

31 July 2014

Match officials will use vanishing sprays in the Johnstone's Paint Trophy this season.

The Football League is to trial the use of Vanishing Spray, as used by match officials at the recent World Cup in Brazil, in this season’s Johnstone’s Paint Trophy.

Football League Chief Executive, Shaun Harvey, said: “Having seen it used in the recent World Cup, the introduction of Vanishing Spray into the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy will give us the opportunity to observe its use in domestic football so that we can better understand its effect on the flow of the game.  It will also give us the ability to gauge the opinions of players, managers, referees and fans.”

The League will not be using Vanishing Spray in any matches played in the Sky Bet Football League or Capital One Cup during 2014/15, but will consider its introduction at the end of the current campaign.

Meanwhile, the draw for Round One of this season’s competition will take place on Saturday 16 August.

As in previous seasons, the first round will see clubs divided into regional groupings with 16 clubs being awarded byes into Round Two.

Regional Groups

Northern Section – West: Accrington Stanley | Carlisle United | Crewe Alexandra | Fleetwood Town | Morecambe | Preston North End | Rochdale | Shrewsbury Town  

Northern Section – East: Barnsley | Bradford City | Chesterfield | Mansfield Town | Notts County | Oldham Athletic | Scunthorpe United | York City

Southern Section – West: Cheltenham Town| Coventry City | Newport County | Oxford United | Portsmouth | Swindon Town | Wycombe Wanderers | Yeovil Town   

Southern Section – East: AFC Wimbledon | Cambridge United | Crawley Town | Gillingham | Leyton Orient | Peterborough United | Southend United | Stevenage

Clubs Awarded Byes

Bury | Port Vale | Tranmere Rovers | Walsall | Burton Albion | Doncaster Rovers | Hartlepool United | Sheffield United | Bristol City | Exeter City | Northampton Town | Plymouth Argyle | Colchester United | Dagenham & Redbridge | Luton Town | Milton Keynes Dons

Advertisement block