Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Mitre Goal Of The Year 2012

6 February 2013

Do you want to nominate a Cheltenham Town goal for the Football League Awards this season?

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2012 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2012 calendar year, to include goals scored in the npower Football League, the Capital One Cup and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy. Goals in 2013 DO NOT count.

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination via email or by tweeting the official Cheltenham Town Twitter account with the hashtags #MitreGOTY and #CTFC.

How to nominate:

- Email media and communications officer James Brown ( with your choice of goal.
- Tweet @CTFCofficial with your choice of goal including the hashtags #MitreGOTY and #CTFC.

The closing date of the nomination process will close at 12pm on Monday 11 February and votes after this point will not be counted.

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2013.  The winner will be decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 24th March 2013.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2012), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2011), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2010), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2009), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2008), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2007) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2006).

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Advertisement block